Areas of Interest

With the advent of hydraulic fracturing and horizontal drilling, the United States has witnessed a renaissance of domestic energy development, opening up new areas of exploration previously thought out of reach. Using these technologies, oil & gas operators have the ability to extract increasing amounts of hydrocarbons from shale formations. Many of these formations have proven to provide prolific oil & gas development opportunities, namely the Marcellus Shale of Pennsylvania and West Virginia, the Utica Shale of Ohio, the Niobrara Shale of Colorado, the Bakken Shale of North Dakota, the Woodford Shale of Oklahoma, the Eagle Ford Shale of South Texas and the Permian Basin of West Texas.  

Over the previous ten years, Gallatin’s management team has deployed over $100 million in more than 400 individual leasehold and mineral acquisitions in Texas, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Oklahoma, Colorado, North Dakota, West Virginia, Mississippi, Louisiana and Kansas. While we purchase producing and non-producing mineral & royalty interests in several different basins across the US, we are currently most focused on the Midland Basin and Delaware Basin, both subsets of the greater Permian Basin of West Texas. There, operators have discovered the ability to produce oil & gas from multiple stacked formations, including the Bone Spring, Spraberry and Wolfcamp.


Where We Operate



West Texas Counties: Andrews County, Glasscock County, Howard County, Irion County, Loving County, Martin County, Midland County, Pecos County, Reagan County, Reeves County, Upton County, Ward County & Winkler County

New Mexico Counties: Eddy County & Lea County


Southwest Pennsylvania Counties: Allegheny County, Greene County & Washington County

Northeast Pennsylvania Counties: Bradford County, Lycoming County, Sullivan County, Susquehanna County, Tioga County & Wyoming County


North Dakota Counties: Dunn County, McKenzie County, Mountrail County & Williams County


South Texas Counties: Atascosa County, Dewitt County, Gonzales County, Karnes County, LaSalle County, Live Oak County & McMullen County


Eastern Ohio Counties: Belmont County, Carroll County, Guernsey County, Harrison County, Monroe County & Noble County


Colorado Counties: Weld County